After the previous post I looked at the official times for the Posole Ole 5k, Jodi not only finished without walking at all, she PR'D!!! I was very proud considering I never in a million years would have thought she would run in weather that cold and considering she talked a couple times about not making it to the end running!!
I had planned on a good long trail run either Saturday afternoon after the race or Sunday late morning so we could sleep in and rest a little. We took our time getting ready, not that it was going to warm up much but what the heck.
I had Jodi drop me at the Tram station, got out and hit the trail at almost exactly 11:00. I walked to ice cleats because the hill was total ice. Usually I stop at the top, take a drink, take a break but not today. It was too damn cold for either. As soon as I hit the top I hit the start button on my watch and took off. It was hard on the downhills to hold back, even though the ice cleats gave me amazing traction I still had to have the energy to run all the way to Copper, which I knew was a good 10 miles south of me across mixed terrain but mostly snow and ice.
the
top of the hill by the water tank as a warm up before I started running. Thankfully I had my
The only time I took the snow cleats off was from where Trailhead Rd meets Glenwood Hills to where I got back on the trail at Comanche. I couldn't take them off on Trailhead because there was so much ice and with them I could run downhill as if the road was dry. It was pretty cool that when I took them off my pace picked up very well on the road, again I had to hold back even after having already run almost 6 miles.
I actually continued and pulled it off, I ran the full 10.7 miles. About mile 8 some of it was pretty darn slow but I finished strong. Bring on the 20k next month.
I had planned on a good long trail run either Saturday afternoon after the race or Sunday late morning so we could sleep in and rest a little. We took our time getting ready, not that it was going to warm up much but what the heck.
I had Jodi drop me at the Tram station, got out and hit the trail at almost exactly 11:00. I walked to ice cleats because the hill was total ice. Usually I stop at the top, take a drink, take a break but not today. It was too damn cold for either. As soon as I hit the top I hit the start button on my watch and took off. It was hard on the downhills to hold back, even though the ice cleats gave me amazing traction I still had to have the energy to run all the way to Copper, which I knew was a good 10 miles south of me across mixed terrain but mostly snow and ice.the
top of the hill by the water tank as a warm up before I started running. Thankfully I had my
The only time I took the snow cleats off was from where Trailhead Rd meets Glenwood Hills to where I got back on the trail at Comanche. I couldn't take them off on Trailhead because there was so much ice and with them I could run downhill as if the road was dry. It was pretty cool that when I took them off my pace picked up very well on the road, again I had to hold back even after having already run almost 6 miles.
I actually continued and pulled it off, I ran the full 10.7 miles. About mile 8 some of it was pretty darn slow but I finished strong. Bring on the 20k next month.
No comments:
Post a Comment